Sue Devitt

This morning I was treated to a wonderfully relaxing Sue Devitt (http://www.suedevittbeauty.com/) facial followed by a Sue Devitt make-over, both administered by a lovely lady called Lexi, at Harvey Nichols in Birmingham.

Those familiar with the store will know that you enter the treatment room via the personal shopping area. Once inside this haven I was offered all manner of beverages, I decided not to opt for wine (despite, if they still have the same one, knowing it to be delicious) as it was only 10am and instead had a rather good cup of tea (and I am extremely fussy about my tea).

As well as Lexi’s remarkable tea-making skills, she has a long-list of other qualities one would wish to find in a cosmetic therapist: she managed to instantly put me at ease; gives a fantastic facial (clearly a biggie); did my make-up so well that my friend asked why I don’t always do my make-up that way (I really wish I could); and is so quiet on her feet I was considering asking whether her fancy footwork had seen her pursue any other lines of work, such as a ballerina or a burglar.

My facial lasted an hour but only seemed to be about 10 minutes. There were numerous products used that tingled, cooled, warmed and crackled and bubbled on the skin and, most importantly, all were applied superbly which, I believe, resulted in a rather embarrassing, but luckily very short, period of snoring and dribbling. From the moment Lexi began to work her magic I was so enamoured with her potent potions and fabulous fingers I had completely stopped lusting over the striking Jimmy Choo handbag, that is indisputably essential to complete an otherwise faultless black & white, multi-textured, multi-patterned outfit, and the unquestionably crucial, given the season, and surprisingly sexy knit-wear a mere 10 minuscule footsteps away.

The biggest benefit was, once this tranquil and soothing experience was over, my skin looked hydrated and healthy. I then indulged in another cup of breathtaking tea before moving into the main store to have my make-up done.

Lexi asked how I would like my make-up then made suggestions as to what she would do. I went with her proposal and was delighted by the result. My face looked more natural than usual and more radiant; she even matched the lipstick perfectly to the colours in my outfit (earning major brownie points). I would highly recommend the Sue Devitt facial experience, especially when accompanied by a make-up application by Lexi, which can be booked either in store or over the phone 0121 616 6000.

When booking, do as I say and not as I do. Ensure to leave yourself enough time to enjoy a glance round the shop; some time to ensure Lexi does not have to rush your make-up (although it will still look fantastic); enough time to drink your tea sensibly (so as not to scald your new stunning, perfectly polished lips) or, even better, book in the afternoon and get a little squiffy on wine or on a Saturday and enjoy a more fizzy hangover the following day courtesy of Harvey Nichols. Above all, certainly do not attempt to do this at an opening appointment (earliest appointment 10) and brave to be back in time to pick your little cherub up from pre-prep (at 12) because it will result in a frantic telephone conversation with the receptionist explaining that you are stuck in traffic whilst actually trying to break the land speed record to get there before he is left standing alone waiting for his terrible mother or, even worse, ushered back into the classroom whilst his teacher mutters something about extra-payment and having to discuss your tardiness with you at parents’ evening, whilst trying to explain you have not forgotten (or at least that is what she is hoping) about your little sweetheart.

Due to the day’s events, my outfit’s chief functions were comfort and movement, enabling full relaxation during my treatment and full flexibility for a play date after lunch (luckily at an indoor play centre so shoes did not necessarily need to be flat as they always get removed when I get dragged into the ball pond (admittedly, anyone having witnessed my typical ‘ball bomb’ entry would agree that cannon balling into a group of small children who then drown in multi-coloured plastic balls, makes it hard to believe I am dragged reluctantly or resentfully).

The final result being a mixture of a very casual outfit but adding a bold handbag and matching heels to give a small element of grown-up glamour and to avoid looking too much like a scruffy student during my posh pub lunch.

This entry was posted in fashion, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sue Devitt

  1. When I initially commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you may remove me from that service? Thanks!

  2. Very Good Article. Goodbye!

  3. Simply wish to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity in your post is simply excellent and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

  4. This is a fascinating article by the way. I am going to go ahead and save this post for my sister to check out later on tomorrow. Keep up the first-rate work.

  5. Ava Angeron says:

    Hi!
    Thanks Much for supplying some very useful info on the topic.

    I am saving your website and for sure definitely check back often.

  6. I will right away clutch your rss feed as I can’t in finding your email subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly permit me recognize in order that I could subscribe. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

